Burton Copeland Shortlisted for the 2022 Manchester Legal Awards

The Best Outcome Starts Here


Burton Copeland Shortlisted for the 2022 Manchester Legal Awards

The annual Manchester Legal Awards, which recognise and celebrate the region’s exceptional legal talent, are just weeks away!

Burton Copeland are delighted and proud to announce that we’ve been shortlisted for both of the categories that we entered. The final interviews to decide the winners are actually being held on the 13th May 2022 by a multiple panels of judges in several categories.

Winners won’t be revealed though until the prestigious awards ceremony, which is the biggest event of it’s kind in the North West, and is to be held at the Midland Hotel on Thursday 9th June 2022.

The two categories we have been shortlisted for are:

  • Crime Team of the Year
  • Small Firm of the Year (1-5 partners).
The full trophy cabinet in reception of Burton Copelands’ Manchester office


Compliance partner Daniel Weed said, “I am absolutely thrilled to have been shortlisted again at the biggest and most prestigious award ceremony in the North West. We have won both of these categories before and despite the tough competition, believe that we can do it again. We’re not going to tempt fate and buy a new trophy cabinet just yet, but if we win, we’ll have to do.”


The full shortlist of all categories is as follows:

Business Support Champion/s of the Year 

  • Charlotte Dixon, Mills & Reeve 
  • Laura West, Anthony Collins Solicitors 

Trainee/Paralegal/Apprentice of the Year  

  • Alastair Cowan, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP 
  • David York, Irwin Mitchell 
  • Jonathan Holling, JMW Solicitors LLP 
  • Natalie Kralski, McAlister Family Law 

Solicitor of the Year 

  • Nikki Hale, Vardags 
  • Amanda Lea, DWF Law 
  • Moe Yassin, Beyond Law Group 

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Champions of the Year 

  •  Brabners LLP 
  • Fieldfisher LLP 
  • Mills & Reeve 

Team of the Year – Corporate/Commercial  

  • Beyond Corporate Law 
  • Eversheds Sutherland LLP 
  • Mills & Reeve 
  • Pannone Corporate 

Team of the Year – Crime  

  • Burton Copeland LLP 
  • Olliers Solicitors  
  • Slater Heelis 
  • Tuckers 

Team of the Year – Employment 

  • Leigh Day 
  • Myerson Solicitors LLP 
  • TLT LLP 

Team of the Year – Family   

  • Hall Brown Family Law 
  • JMW Solicitors LLP 
  • McAlister Family Law 
  • Simpson Millar LLP 
  • Slater Heelis 

Team of the Year – Litigation  

  • Brabners LLP 
  • Eversheds Sutherland LLP 
  • Trowers & Hamlins 
  • Weightmans LLP 

Team of the Year – PI/Clinical Negligence 

  • Irwin Mitchell 
  • Leigh Day 
  • Slater and Gordon Lawyers (Clinical Negligence Team) 
  • Stephensons Solicitors LLP 

Team of the Year – Private Client  

  • Brabners LLP 
  • JMW Solicitors LLP 
  • Price Slater Gawne 

Team of the Year – Property  

  • Eversheds Sutherland 
  • Fieldfisher LLP 
  • JMW Solicitors LLP 

Team of the Year – Regulatory 

  • DWF Law LLP 
  • Markel Law 
  • Mills & Reeve 

In House Team of the Year 

  • Bank North 
  • Boohoo Group plc 

Barrister/QC of the Year  

  • Fran Heaton QC, St Johns Buildings 
  • Dr Christopher McNall18 St John Street 

Partner of the Year  

  • Emma Gill, Vardags 
  • Ian McConkey, DAC Beachroft LLP 
  • Vikki Woodfine, DWF Law LLP  

Barristers’ Chambers of the Year  

  • 18 St John Street Chambers 
  • Deans Court Chambers 
  • St John’s Building Chambers 

Law Firm of the Year – small (1-5 partners)  

  • Burton Copeland 
  • IMD Solicitors LLP 
  • Olliers Solicitors 
  • Price Slater Gawne 

Law Firm of the Year – medium (5-20 partners)  

  • Beyond Group 
  • CFG Law 
  • Glaisyers ETL 
  • Hall Brown Family Law 

Law Firm of the Year – large (20+ partners)  

  • Eversheds Sutherland LLP 
  • JMW Solicitors LLP 
  • Mills & Reeve 
  • TLT LLP 


For us, it's personal.

Call us now on 0161 827 9500
Arrange A Callback